Top Ten Tuesday #6: Read in one…

I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday for a long while, and as usual I’m kind of late to the party, but I liked the sound of this one. Today, the folk at The Broke and the Bookish are asking for top ten books read in one sitting (or thereabouts), which immediately brought a few great books to mind. Sadly I only managed 8, because it is late on Tuesday and I need to sleep 🙂

1. The Diving Bell and The Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby

If you’ve never heard of it, this book was written by a man who suffered a stroke leaving him unable to move anything but his left eye. He dictated the entire book by blinking. It is quite an incredible feat, and even more incredible in that it is funny, sad, inspiring and hugely moving to boot.

2. Anthropology by Dan Rhodes

One that I’ve mentioned before. I love this book. It is 100 flash fiction stories that are sad, bizarre and hilarious. Read it!

3. The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman

I’ve mentioned my love of Kaufman’s other super short book All My Friends are Superheros – this one is just as good. A man with a loaded gun enters a bank, but steals each of the customers’ most treasured possessions rather than money. Then strange things begin to happen to each of them – including the woman who finds herself shrinking a little every day. Like all of Kaufman’s work, it is quite out there, but there are some nice underlying messages hidden within as well.

4. Holes

You can’t help but read this in one go. It is short, yes. And easy to read, but also completely compelling and really cleverly put together. I’ve read it several times and always enjoy it.

5. Flowers for Mrs Harris by Paul Gallico

A short book about a cleaning lady who goes to Paris to buy a ball gown. Nothing much more happens, but it is one of the nicest books you will ever read. A short masterpiece. If you have never read any Gallico, this is one of his best.

6. Breakfast at Tiffanys

I read this long before I saw the film, which is actually pretty good to be fair. Holly Golightly is such a great character – seemingly so frivolous but with much more depth than is first apparent.

7. Malory Towers by Enid Blyton.

I put this one in, not because it is short (it isn’t particularly and there are 6 of them) but because as a kid, I could not put these down. I can distinctly remember reading them in bed far later than I should have been awake. And I desperately wanted to go to school there.

8. The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly.

Probably didn’t read this in one sitting either, as it is quite lengthy, but I do remember it being a book that I really didn’t want to put down. Romance, adventure and murder in Victorian London. With tea. Amazing.

 

2 comments

  1. I’ve never read Holes, but I thought the movie was excellent and by all accounts, it’s a really good adaptation. I actually bought this book for my nephew for Christmas because of how much everyone has loved it. Maybe I should borrow it from him…

    Like

    1. Interesting! I’ve never seen the film, I guess because I really loved the book. But might give it a go. Definitely give it a read ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

