Top Ten Tuesday #4: On a whim

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week – books I picked up on a whim.

I had a really hard time keeping this list to 10! I guess I choose a lot of books at random. I narrowed it down by only choosing books which I knew absolutely nothing about, which weren’t recommended by someone and by authors I had never read before.

What makes you choose books? Is it the cover, a clever title, interesting blurb? Probably all of the above, but if I find a book I think looks interesting, I usually read page 69 and if it grabs me, than I give it a go. It works for me anyway…

209034401. The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters by Michelle Lovric. This is actually (loosely) based on a true story, about a group of sisters who make a living out of their extremely long hair. I thought it sounded intriguing and it turned out to be really enjoyable. Lovely writing too, will definitely check out her other books.

 

101284282. Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick. I saw this one in the library and immediately borrowed it, despite its heftiness. Half the story was told in prose and half in a graphic novel style, so it made for a really different and refreshing read.

 

 

996800

3. If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things by Jon McGregor. If you have never read this, you should. It is completely different to anything else I have ever read, and utterly beautiful. It basically tells the story of all the residents of a street on one day in summer, but it’s beautifully done. One of my favourite books.

 

1767633

4. 1933 Was A Bad Year by John Fante. I had never heard of Fante, but I liked the title. I loved the book too, and I’m really glad I picked it up, because I’ve read some more of Fante’s work since then and he’s awesome.

 

 

8286645. Highest Tide by Jim Lynch. This is about a boy who finds a giant squid, and about his relationship with his grandmother. Sounds odd, which is probably why I picked it up, but it was really enjoyable.

 

 

9443346. All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman. Utterly weird and completely wonderful. It is a very small book, but it is unique, clever, funny, and emotional. I’m so glad I found Kaufman, he’s amazing.

 

 

17883847. Three To See The King by Magnus Mills. I’m sure I picked this up for the cover, which is gorgeous. I don’t remember a huge amount about the book, other than it being really odd. I must have liked it though, because I have read quite a few of Mills’ books since this one.

 

 

401725

8. The Schooling Of Claybird Catts by Janis Owens. I thought this one was awesome. Claybird is a great character and the story really captured me. It is one of a trio of books which tells the same story from three different viewpoints.

 

 

4015429. Lovely green eyes by Arnost Lustig. Not a happy read this one. It tells the story of a 15 year old girl who chooses to work in a German military brothel over death in a concentration camp. Heavy going, but really worth it.

 

 

86419310.Girlfriend In A Coma by Douglas Coupland. Just to show that not all the books I choose on a whim turn out to be great. I only just made it through this one and it was, in a word, awful. A lesson that if I have reached page 69 and it still isn’t working for me, I should give up.

 

 

How about you? What makes you choose a book? Which were the best ones you have read on a whim?

 

8 comments

  1. Wonderstruck sounds like an interesting way to read a book. I don’t think I’ve ever seen half a graphic novel half a prose novel before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely check it out! It’s huge though – not one for commuting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, If Nobody Speaks Of Remarkable Things was an impulse buy for me too – I’ve not read it yet, but it sounds like I should fix that this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know what you think! I’ve read it a couple of times, I think it’s just gorgeous.

      Like

  3. For some reason I have a hard time thinking of books for this category. Maybe many of the books I pick up on a whim end up not being memorable for me? An exception was Archangel by Sharon Shinn, I know I picked that up off a table at Barnes and Noble just because I liked the cover and ended up loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just checked out Archangel on Goodreads – looks really interesting! I do read more books now based on recommendations and reviews than I used to – also because I don’t have as much time for browsing in the library 😦 But I still like to pick up new stuff I know nothing about now and then.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read any of these books! 🙂 It’s great when you can pick up such interesting looking books on a whim!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I can recommend them all. Except number 10. If you like Dan Rhodes, I would check out Kaufman. He’s completely off the wall, but it’s great to read something completely different sometimes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

