Slightly Creased #1: Fingerless Gloves

Slightly Creased is my outlet for life’s little ups and downs, and where I attempt to find books to match or improve my mood!

It is May on Sunday, and today in the UK, it is snowing. Snowing?! I got married in May (several years ago) and it was 30°!

26167903Clearly I angered the weather gods last week by attempting to put my winter coat away for the summer, and by reading Dan Rhodes’ When The Professor Got Stuck In The Snow. I had been wanting to read it for a while because I am a huge fan of his work, and because it was surrounded by controversy and Rhodes struggled to get it published at all. Sadly, for me, it just didn’t match up to the rest of his books and I was quite disappointed. Rhodes usually manages to be funny and cutting but with lots of genuinely emotional touches (see Timolean Vieta Come Home, which is brilliant) but here it all just seemed a bit forced, and not particularly moving or funny. Sigh.

Anyway, clearly it was a bad choice all round, and it has made me feel even colder and more miserable than I do already. I am so fed up with the cold! I work in a basement with NO WINDOWS, so for the best part of the year I don’t see much sunshine. Come spring, I am like a diver rising to the surface, lungs bursting, gasping for breath. I don’t need 30°, I just need to feel some sun on my skin and to be able to type without my fingerless gloves.

So I really need some books to warm me up and to remind me that elsewhere (and sometimes even here) it is HOT! So far, I’ve thought of:

Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O’Farrell
The Secret River by Kate Grenville
Holes by Louis Sachar
The Beach by Alex Garland
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
Papillon by Henri Chariere

Any more ideas? Let me know below. Or feel free to moan about the weather too.
Leave a Reply

