Top Ten Tuesday #1: Books for laughs

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This is my first attempt at Top Ten Tuesday – and my first time participating in a meme, which is quite exciting really.

This week: books that will make you laugh…

  1. The Egg and I by Betty MacDonald. Life on a chicken farm in late 1920s Washington. MacDonald’s dry sense of humour is exactly my cup of tea and I laugh every time I read it (which is often). Her other books are brilliant too.
  2. The Throwback by Tom Sharpe. The funniest book I have ever read. But probably not for the prudish. Or for reading on trains.
  3. Anthropology by Dan Rhodes. This is one of my favourite books of all time. It is a masterpiece in flash fiction – 100 tightly composed little stories about love and heartache (mostly heartache). Each one is a unique and clever little gem. Some are heart-breakingly sad and some are absolutely hilarious. Many are both.
  4. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons. Subtly humorous portrait of rural Britain in the early 20th century. Fantastic characters who Gibbons sends up brilliantly. Awesome.
  5. The Wrong Boy by Willy Russell. I can’t actually remember much of the plot, but I do remember it being genuinely funny.
  6. Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson. This was the first Bill Bryson book I read and it made me laugh so much. Looking at all the weird foibles of Britain through American eyes, Bryson points out all the things we just take as normal, which are clearly bonkers.
  7. The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy by Tim Burton. Yes, that Tim Burton. As you might expect, it is weird, sad, moving, quirky and funny all at the same time.
  8. The Van by Roddy Doyle. Most people would probably pick The Commitments, but I’ve always loved The Van. The dialogue is brilliant, the characters jump right off the page, and it’s very funny to boot.
  9. A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond.  I loved hearing about Paddington’s antics when I was younger, and my sons love him now. There’s nothing better than hearing my son roaring with laughter when Paddington messes up again.
  10. Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson. Who doesn’t love Calvin and Hobbes?

So there are my top 10 funny books  – agree? What are yours?

3 comments

  1. Calvin and Hobbes ❤ My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the book with the cow. Then again, for some reason, I seem drawn to books with cows on the cover. Maybe I should look into it. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yes, definitely check it out, it’s amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

